Buying items at an auction to sell vs. clearing clutter goal

Published April 4, 2014 by marcistone

Today, I went to an auction looking for things to sell. Interestingly enough, during the preview, I found most of the stuff junk. I’ve purchased and sold things before that I didn’t need/want, but I could at least see the need or value to others. But today, it took me awhile to get into the buying mode. Most likely since I haven’t been in it for the last few months.

I found myself watching what others were interested. Some people buy things to sell online, in their store or at a swap meet. I wondered if there were people buying things just for themselves.

I only bought 2 auctions, and normally I buy quite a few. But the more I buy, the more I have to do to get everything listed online. Or perhaps I didn’t want more clutter.

There were several lots that went for $5-10 and normally I’d jump on bidding, but today I thought about how much time it would take to sort through it all. It’s clear to me that my thinking about owning items has changed in the last few months.

Leave a Reply

